Lessons from my watch.

This is the part where I apologize for not posting in for-frikkin-ever and come up with some great excuses, but in the words of Sweet Brown… “Ain’t nobody got time for that!”

So, let’s get to it.

I got this sweet new “smart” watch for Christmas from my parents this year. I love it. I understand that I can pull my phone out of my pocket and see all the notifications there, but I love new technology and I didn’t have to pay for it so stop yelling at me πŸ™‚

Anyway…unlike a normal watch this one has to be charged on occasion. Not a big deal since I am in the habit of charging almost half a dozen other tech items I own on a regular basis. Today, my new smart watch notified me that it’s juice was getting low and it was due for a charge. So, I started searching for the specific cable to charge this specific device. I looked upstairs by our bed. I looked by the computer. I looked downstairs. I looked in our box of random cables. Nothing. We just got back from our holiday trip to Florida, so I started searching in bags and luggage and the car and in everything that made the trip down with us. No luck.

Panic began to set in. Now, I know we live in a beautiful, tech savvy culture where I can order a replacement and have it delivered to my house within a week, but my device would be dead by then and life would end as I know it. (ok…a little dramatic, but you get the point)

Then it hit me…this is exactly what happens to us. Whether it’s physically, emotionally, relationally, spiritually, we find ourselves in time of emptiness, or close to it. We start to dry up and realize that we are about to hit the wall and metaphorically die.

We need to recharge. We need to plug in and let ourselves be refilled with what gives us energy and the ability to continue doing life.

I’ve been sick for the past month or so and just recently I’ve started to get better. My congestion has subsided, my cough has almost stopped and I’ve been able to get almost a full night’s sleep. Now, I’m the type of person who stops taking my medicine as soon as I start to feel better. Right after I got off work today I began to feel my body telling me it wasn’t fully healed yet. That I had cut the recovery time short. So, after searching for almost an hour for this stupid cable to charge my super cool new techie watch and after taking a nap from mental and physical exhaustion Β I began looking for my medicine, which also made the trip with us from Florida.

Lo and behold…in the paper bag that held my prescription medicine was the cable to charge my watch. How? I have no idea. Coincidence…I think not.

Don’t forget to recharge.

  1. It was worth the waiting. You wrote another great piece here. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. Good writing, I left a comment on my phone, but I realize it did not post. Sorry bro. I enjoyed this post and look forward to your next. By the way, what kind of smart watch did you get?

  3. AJ, we need other post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

