Guest Post: Today is my Favorite

I have a treat for you today! Today is the first guest post here on my blog. Elizabeth, her husband Mark and little Henry have been good friends of Cynthia and I for about 3 years now and I think she is a great writer. Her outlook on life encourages and challenges me every time she writes. I love being able to do life with them and they are part of the reason why I love community.

When we first started talking about swapping blog posts I asked her to share with you a little bit about why she blogs. It’s good stuff. Check it out:

hello, friends of aj!  my name is elizabeth.  i am a 30 year old wife, mother and blogger.  i mostly blog about my faith, family, randomness and just life in general.  


today, aj and i are switching things up with a guest post.  so if you came here looking for words of wisdom from that guy, head on over to my blog and check it out.

not too long ago, aj’s wife, cynthia, was giving the message at our church about making every day your favorite.  her message really resonated with me and what my blog, best.day.ever., is all about. 

here are some examples she gave, in my own words:

    • birth – “hello world, this is my favorite time!
    • learning to walk – “im mobile.  Woo hoo, today is my favorite”
    • getting your license – “freedom!  This is my favorite.”
    • losing a job – “thank you God for the opportunity to learn something new.  Today is my favorite.”
    • failing marriage – “this is a great trial in my life that will teach me to lean on you, Lord.  today is my favorite.”
    • root canal – “thank you Lord for the dentist’s education and my future pain free mouth!”

… ok, so that last one is mine, but you get the point.

this is what i strive for and let me tell you, i am no expert!  it can be difficult to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  its hard to find joy in pain and heartache … but it can be done.  my blog started out with my journey to seek … to be a better wife, sister, daughter, friend, aunt, cousin, employee, Christian, person.  basically, i was trying to make sure i sought God in everything, which is awesome.  what i ended up doing is having really high expectations of myself and others which ends up being disappointed in myself and others, constantly.  that is not a joyful spot to be in.  so, after a while i decided to start on the inside and work my way out.  for me, that meant making the most out of any day or situation. 

i like practical steps i can take to help me with things like this.  so here is my practical guide to making every day your favorite … or at least a hell of a lot better than it was.

step one:  choose joy.  stop fuming and stirring and pouting and CHOOSE to not be those things.  its totally possible … hard but possible.

step two:  make a mental or physical list of wants/needs that have been met over the past 6 months.  how have you been blessed? 

step three:   do something for someone else.  focus on someone else’s needs (big or small) and make it happen. 

step four:  make a list of people in your life that encourage you … call or text at least one of these people and thank them.

step five:  find someone else to encourage and lift up in prayer.  invest in others and you will have more joy.

there you are.  don’t worry, there won’t be a test … but feel free to follow my blog and we can help encourage each other.

  1. While I am not religious, I definitely love the other reminders for making oneself happy and making the world a better place.

  1. April 25th, 2013

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

