Surprised

Maybe it’s because deep down I’m still somewhat of a cynical person. Maybe I have trust issues. Maybe my first girlfriend cheating on me in the 6th grade made me lose faith in humanity…either way…I’m still surprised when we’re surprised that people fail.

With all the news about Lance Armstrong doping and Manti Te’o’s fake girlfriend I can’t help but see others so disappointed in these guys. We looked at them like hero’s and they’ve let us down.

My first reaction can’t help but be something to the effect of, “We’ve seen this before.” Maybe not in this exact situation, but we lift people up and they fail us. This isn’t new.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I get the whole “with great power comes great responsibility thing.” I understand that with fame and popularity and success should come some sort of understanding that people look up to you and you should be smart about the things you say and do.

But, at the end of the day…people are people. And people aren’t perfect.

So, what’s the solution? To never trust anyone and live life as if everyone you meet and hear about is going to fail you? That’s the easy way out. The way that leads to no true relationships. The way that says no one can live up to your expectations.

To trust someone means being vulnerable. It means having faith in people. And that’s hard to do, but it’s necessary.

We have to love. We have to engage in real, authentic relationships. We have to have faith. But, we have to remember…human beings are just that…human. It doesn’t matter the level of responsibility they have, they will make mistakes and they will not always meet your expectations. And guess what? So will you.

You will fail. You will make mistakes. You will not meet others’ and your own expectations.

But that’s the beauty of grace. Grace is getting something you don’t deserve. Like forgiveness. Like a 2nd chance.

Grace is something that we find hard to give, until we need it.

So, trust people. Have faith. Be vulnerable. Even if they’re going to fail you and not meet your expectations. Because you will do the same.

Be grace-filled.

  1. I like the concept here AJ. I know for me I sat in judgment of many people until I faced real failure myself. I know what it is like to find yourself deeply intwined in a complex deception and not know how to best deal with it.
    I would like to hope that it has done two things:
    1. Help me understand the frailty of people and that, despite the fronts we present, we are all fallen and broken.
    2. Help me extend the kind of grace that I hoped for and that I believe God lavishly pours on us.

    Peace,
    Vince

    • Thanks for reading and commenting Vince. I totally agree. It’s not until we are the ones in need of that grace that we see how important it is.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

