Pay It Forward

My friend Jennifer (@dailydemitasse) is a coffee lover, to put it lightly. She blogs about coffee HERE and works to bridge the gap between coffee consumers and the specialty coffee industry. Annnd she’s from about 30 minutes from my hometown. So that’s cool. Cynthia and I used to frequent a coffee shop downtown for a while only because she worked there.

Recently she has been working to inspire people to Pay It Forward with coffee. The whole idea is that while you’re in line at the coffee shop, you either ask what the pesrson behind you wants and buy one for them, or just leave a couple extra bucks at the register for whoever comes next. It’s a brilliant idea and you can read more about it HERE, but the cool thing is that I got to experience it today!

Here’s how it went down:

I’m pretty sure the guy in front of me at Morning Times wasn’t planning on buying a complete stranger coffee today. He bought 2 cups of coffee, one for him and apparently one for the person he was getting ready to meet. Right as he paid for the coffees the guy he was meeting with walked in. He said, “Here’s your coffee,” but apparently guy #2 wasn’t in the mood for coffee (he must have been sick or something). So, guy #1 turned around and asked, “In the mood for coffee?” And I, of course, said, “Always!”

It’s kind of a cliche to say “it’s the little things,” but it really is. That $3.00 wasn’t going to break the bank for me (I know, I drink expensive coffee), but that simple act of paying it forward was worth a lot more than that. Maybe I’m reading too much into it (which I often do), but it gives me hope. We live in a world where hope is not the biggest commodity, so when I get glimpses of hope, of people living outside themselves, of people sacrificing when they don’t have to…it gives me hope.

This guy could have tried to get his money back, he could have (which I would have probably done) got really excited because he got to drink BOTH cups of coffee on his own or he could have just thrown it away…but he didn’t.

So whether it’s a cup of coffee, a beer, a parking meter, a meal or an electric bill…pay it forward. You never know what kind of impact you could have on a person’s life with one “little thing.”

  1. Thanks, AJ, for getting the entire point across as to why this is such an important concept. I just promote this mainly on Monday’s because I got tired of people being so grumpy. But every day is a great opportunity to pay it forward, no matter what it may be. And it reminds us that there is still good in this world.

    Cheers! [_]D

    Jennifer

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

