I Agree with Bruno Mars

So…I listen to the radio…a lot.  Probably too much.  Even if Cynthia is in the car with me talking on the phone, instead of turning the radio off I turn it down really low, but just enough to where I can still hear it.  Just so I know it’s there waiting for me.  Too much? Probably.

The point is, I love music.  All kinds of music. My least favorite being country (sorry country fans), but I can appreciate it every once in a while depending on the artist. That’s probably why I DJ’ed for a while (bet you didn’t know that). I just love music. I love what the singer/songwriter is trying to convey through the song. Sometimes it’s easy to pick up on and others…not so much. I love how music can stir up emotions, help you feel better, or sometimes worse.  I love how it even makes you physically move…not like Jr. High dance in the cafeteria move, but sway and tap your feet.

There’s this new-ish song by Bruno Mars called “It Will Rain.” Pretty simple message. “Baby don’t leave me or I’ll cry…a lot.” That’s not a direct quote…but this is:

If you ever leave me, baby, Leave some morphine at my door
Cause it would take a whole lot of medication
To realize what we used to have, We don’t have it anymore.

There’s no religion that could ever save me,
No matter how long my knees are on the floor

I have to say that I agree with Mr. Mars on this one.  At least on that last line anyway. “There’s no religion that could ever save me.” Agreed.

It may seem weird coming from a pastor to say that I’m not a huge fan of religion, but it’s true.  I feel like when it comes to getting to know who Jesus is and how he wants us to live in response to him…religion usually gets in the way. When you talk about religion, what you’re really talking about is a set of beliefs that you agree with. And in that lies the problem.

(bout to get preachy here) Following Jesus is not about agreeing with a set of beliefs or some moral code. Following Jesus is about living in response to what Jesus did for us while he lived here on earth and what he did on the cross. Now, will you have beliefs because of your following Jesus, yes. Will you most likely adhere to some moral standards, pretty good chance yes. But, when the focus is solely on those beliefs, when it becomes more important what you believe than how you actually live your beliefs, that’s where we get into trouble.

Is it important to have right beliefs about Jesus and the gospel? Absolutely. But, if you have right belief without right practice, then do you really have right belief?

Here’s my point (I think). Don’t let religion get in the way of you knowing the real Jesus and live your life in response to who he was, what he said and what he did.

So, yes Bruno. I do agree with you. There’s no religion that can save you…only Jesus can do that.

(Big fan of your music, by the way.)

P.S. – There’s this really cool spoken word video going around about Religion vs. Jesus…it’s only got like 3.25 million hits, so they could use a few more… check it out by clicking here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

