Achieved?

What is your definition of success?

If you’ve never asked yourself this question I would suggest you do.  One of the best quotes a good friend of mine once said is, “What does a win look like?”  In life, how do you define or measure if you are winning or succeeding?

Today, I went to lunch with a couple guys and as we pulled into Subway (classic after New Year’s lunch spot) we saw this s-a-weet burgundy corvette.  I mean this thing was beautiful. As we were walking around this car, slightly drooling, we saw the license plate, which read “ACHIEVED.”

Now, I don’t know the owner of this car, I did see him get into his car, but we didn’t meet. I don’t know how he lives his life.  But, when I saw that on the license plate of this sweet car I couldn’t help but think of how so many people define success, winning or achievement in life by the amount of stuff they had. I can’t help but think that given the recent economic down turn and natural disasters and how quickly we can lose our stuff, our houses, our money and even our lives that if we define achievement by what we have we are really living dangerously.

It seems to me that the smartest thing to do would be to define achievement by something that can’t be taken away so easily. Something not so tangible. Maybe our success in life, how we define winning and achievement, should be found in something that can’t be driven away, taken, lost, stolen, destroyed or killed.

So, again, I ask, what is your definition of success?

What does a win look like in your life?

  1. A win for me. Wow that is challenging. Thanks for writing this…

  2. Thanks Chad…I wish I could say it’s not challenging to me, but it is as well. Of course, I’m under the line of thinking that if you only write or speak about things that make you feel good, you’ll never grow. Here’s to growing together (however uncomfortable it may be).

  3. My definition of success is simple… when you’ve improved the quality of life of those around you – your family, your friends, your community.
    Leaving this world a better place than you found it. This doesn’t have to be dramatic, or visible. It can be as simple as helping others find themselves, or enabling them to reach their potential. When I can sit back and look at those around me being happy (think of the Shawshank Redemptiom scene on the prision roof where the inmates are enjoying a couple of cold ones), that to me spells success.

    Thanks for sharing AJ.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

