Racking Up

Let me be honest…I racked up this Christmas.  Cynthia got me some amazing, well thought out, gifts (she won the gift giving award this year).  My parents and siblings got me some really cool gifts.  My families main love language is gift giving and receiving, so come holidays and birthdays we all get excited and usually go over the top.  I mean the reason I’m even typing this at 1:45am is because I also got some amazing coffee gifts and I’ve been drinking a lot of coffee thanks to that…a lot.

Yet, as I sit here after an awesome week with my family, after receiving and giving some really cool gifts, after eating for free at a restaurant that I couldn’t afford to eat at unless I took out a loan, I can’t help, but hear myself thinking things like, “you know what I could use?” Or, “you know what I need?”  I can’t help, but think that I’m not yet satisfied.  Why do I do that?

I have just been basically lavished upon by my family and friends yet I can’t help but want something else.  What is wrong with me?  Maybe I’m alone in this, though I doubt it, but I feel like contentment is really hard for me.  Maybe it’s our culture that says that we should never be satisfied and that we should always want more.  Maybe it’s the media that tells us that we always have to have the newest and “best” thing out there. And trust me, I have fallen prey to those ads a lot.

I wonder if there is something inside of us that can never be satisfied.  What if we keep trying to fill this unsatisfaction with things that don’t actually satisfy us?

Can we ever be fully satisfied?

Do you feel yourself doing the same thing after the holidays?

  1. The best gift we can all give ourselves is the discipline of Sufficiency. If we adopt the “less is more” mantra we probably won’t have “I need… ” as our default thinking. I believe the drive to have more is both cultural and the desire to fill a void caused by not taking the time to know ourselves fully and love ourselves deeply.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

