Lent – Cleaning Toilets

So, lent started out with a practice that was more mental than anything. Recite a very powerful couple of verses…while definitely impactful, I would have to say it was fairly easy. Today, however, not my favorite.

Today’s practice was to do a chore that you usually don’t. So, instead of just trying to figure out which chore to do I thought it would be best if I just asked Cynthia which chore she would like me to do. Bad idea. You guessed it. I was cleaning the toilets. Now, before you run off and tell my wife that I am using my blog to complain about her being some sort of slave driver (I would never call her that), know that I knew exactly what I was getting myself into and wanted her to give me whatever she wanted to.

With that said….I still wasn’t thrilled. I’ll tell you, and you probably already know this, there’s not much more humbling than cleaning a toilet.

Hmmm…humility.

That’s interesting. So, day one is about putting God first in our lives and day two is about humbling ourselves. Well that just makes perfect sense. Maybe you’re like me and a day after focusing on putting God first I’m already relying on me again. Maybe a reminder about me not being the main focus of my life because I’m not as awesome as I think I am, is a good thing?

You know what? If it takes me scrubbing a few toilets everyday to be reminded that I’m not that big of a deal, then bring on the AJAX and whatever that scrubber thing that sits next to the toilet is called. Because when I’m being lifted up I’m limiting what God can do in my life. Less of me = more of him.

What about you? What’s it going to take to get you out of your own way in life?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

