You’re Not Much of a Threat

With the release of the new Harry Potter quickly approaching some of our friends and us have been watching the past 6 Harry Potter’s to remind ourselves of what happened and to get ourselves prepared for this new one.  Now, this may seem a little weird for some of you…to think that a 26 year old can get caught up in a movie about kids with wands casting spells and riding brooms.  Think what you want about the movies, I’m not going to try to change your mind, but there is something that I have seen throughout these movies that has caught my attention in every one of the movies.

Every movie has good lines, lines that stick with you far longer than the parking lot of the movie theater.  Lines such as “Milk was a bad choice,” from Ron Burgundy…or “You complete me,” from Jerry McGuire…”In all the horror in the world today, why does it even matter?” from What About Bob…and “INCONCEIVABLE!” from the Princess Bride.  Good stuff.  But, I have heard some lines in the Harry Potter’s that have reminded me of things that Jesus might say, or at least something that might be said about him or a life that is lived following him.

I won’t dive into all of them right now, but the most recent movie that we watched had a quote from Luna Lovegood to Harry Potter…Luna said to Harry, “Well if I were You-Know-Who, I’d want you to feel cut off from everyone else. Because if it’s just you alone you’re not as much of a threat.”

I couldn’t help but hear this and immediately think of my life and the spiritual warfare that I have seen.  You see, Jesus never meant for life to be lived alone.  He never planned for there to be lone ranger christians.  We see examples throughout scripture showing how life is meant to be lived in community and if there is one thing that Satan wants us to do, it’s to be alone.  When we are alone we don’t have accountability, we don’t get encouragement, we don’t have the support system we need to help get us through this life with all it’s struggles and pain.  We have to ask ourselves…who is watching out for me? When I am struggling with temptation or some sort of sin, who can I call or go to that is going to help keep me in check?  Am I surrounding myself with people who are going to help me live life in a way that is going to honor God with my words and my actions?

I can promise you that going at life alone will be much harder.  Living life in community, a community with accountability and purpose, will allow us to live life to the full…after all, “one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves [, but] A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” Ecclesiastes 4:12

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

