Slow Down!

Today marked the second week that Cynthia and I have spent with our refugee family from Burma.  Now, their story is something that has already blown me away in the short time we have hung out with them, but one of the things that I have noticed about the couple of families that we have spent time with who are refugees is how slow they walk.  I know that seems weird that what I would notice is their pace, but it is something that we have seen in a lot of people in the refugee community.

Unfortunately, I think this says more about us as a culture than it does theirs.  Just today we were going to the store with our family and Cynthia and I realized that in between the car and the door we were at least 10 feet ahead of them.  We looked back and remembered the pace.  I think this says something about us as a culture, or, at least, about me.  We are infatuated with moving from point a to point b as fast as possible.  Speed is a big deal, not only just in how we get to where we need to go, but also in everything we do.  3G is no longer good enough for our phones, now we have to have 4G…it’s not enough for fast food restaurants to have a drive through, but they need to have 2 drive throughs, etc…  Our pace of life has gotten faster and faster, we need to be able to do more things in the same amount of time, we need to stay busy, busy, busy.  That’s probably one of the most common answers I get when I ask people how they are doing, “busy.”

I’m not even really sure how we stop this, but I know that my life will quickly spin out of control if I’m not intentional about taking time to slow down.  There’s a lot to say about managing your time well, but there has to be some time where we slow down to recover and prepare for what is to come each week.  It seems like God knew what he was talking about when he started the sabbath.  It’s more than a good idea, it’s vital to our lives.

I don’t have techniques for us to put into practice so we can slow down our lives and still get everything we have committed to doing accomplished, but I know that if we (I) don’t find some ways to slow down, life is going to get left behind.

Just a thought…

    • cynthia
    • November 3rd, 2010

    great post babe. i was thinking about that all day yesterday. especially after we “got used to” walking their pace, then went to the conference where we were surrounded by fellow speed walkers, then found ourselves 10 feet behind instead of ahead.
    it’s so hard to hear or see god when we’re going so fast. maybe sometime this week we can make time to “be still, and know…”

  1. Too true. This was also something I noticed overseas. Everyone had such a slow pace about them. It was so refreshing to just slow down and enjoy what we were doing instead of rushing to get to the next thing. One technique is to just focus on what you are doing. Don’t even think about what is next until you are finished with the present. It’s strange but effective.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

