Were I Was and Where I Am

So, yesterday a friend of mine who is in high school asked me if he could write a biography on me.  He had to pick someone that he knew, but that he didn’t know a lot about and like any good narcissist I obliged.  To quote the great philosopher Terrell Owens, “I love me some me.”  Sorry, I’m a T.O. fan.  Anyway…

After he asked me all the questions from my childhood to where I am today, he asked me this, “Would the you 1o years ago be disappointed with where you are today?” (or something like that)  I thought that was an interesting question and my response was something like this, “There’s no way I could have predicted I would be where I am now, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. And looking back, I can see where God was preparing me to be in the exact place that I am.”

And it’s true, 5, 10 years ago, there’s no way I would have guessed I’d be where I am today, but as I look back at my life, at the major turning points, the little, what seemed meaningless, decisions I made, the hard times, and the things I didn’t really want to experience I can see how God used those things to get me to where I am today.  Sure, it wasn’t always fun, and yes, I did make mistakes, but even through those times God was able to use those to help transform me into who I am today.

So, maybe life for you has been hard lately, or maybe it just seems like the days go by without any meaning or purpose, or life seems pretty good right now…whatever you’re going through right now can be seen in 2 ways, (1) just life happening or (2) as an opportunity to become the person God desires for you to be.  With every choice, every conversation, every action we are becoming someone new, a new creation.  The question is, is that creation going to be something that is closer to God’s plan for your life or farther away?

So, yea, there’s no way I could have seen myself where I am today, but looking back…I couldn’t see it happening any other way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

best. day. ever.

Someone said I should start a blog...I'll let you decide if that was a good idea

Goodnight, Raleigh!

a look at the art, architecture, history, and people of the city at night

brandon hatmaker

simple thoughts on scripture... and other stuff.

Church Accomplished

Leading, laughing, and Learning

Simply Missional

Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life

Integrate

processing life... not from segmented parts, but as a whole...

What's Happening Raleigh?

Keeping you informed about events in the Triangle

Chris Marlow

Do GOOD. Do GOOD Well. Do GOOD Together.

Chad Miller

My Thoughts on Faith and Life

